Bug report, subscription issue, site downtime, general mayhem reports goes here.

Cannot access main site

Re: Cannot access main site

Postby AthenAltena » Sat Nov 23, 2013 1:50 am

It's been sporadically happening to me too, and the same method (using Tor) is working to bypass it.
User avatar
AthenAltena
Dragon of the Nether
 
Posts: 3394
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:58 pm
Location: New England
Clan: Tei'kaliath

Re: Cannot access main site

Postby mmathews » Sat Nov 23, 2013 8:45 am

www1 is throwing a fit and had to be rebooted. Unfortunately it's been quite a while sense it's last reboot so it has to go through the whole fsck on the disks and is taking a while to finish. I've taken www1 out of rotation until it's back up and running again but it may take a bit for DNS to catch up. You can always use http://www3.drowtales.com until everything is back to normal.
mmathews
Overload of the Interwebs
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 2:16 am
Location: Traped in the server

Re: Cannot access main site

Postby midnightbast » Sat Nov 23, 2013 4:59 pm

Thank you Martin! <3
User avatar
midnightbast
Kern's minion
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Where ever there is someone to bite.

Re: Cannot access main site

Postby H'K'Maly » Sat Nov 23, 2013 6:15 pm

mmathews wrote:www1 is throwing a fit and had to be rebooted. Unfortunately it's been quite a while sense it's last reboot so it has to go through the whole fsck on the disks and is taking a while to finish. I've taken www1 out of rotation until it's back up and running again but it may take a bit for DNS to catch up. You can always use http://www3.drowtales.com until everything is back to normal.


Your TTL is one hour. That usually means it takes two hour for "DNS to catch up". How long does fsck take? Is it really worth it?
User avatar
H'K'Maly
Vel'akar
 
Posts: 2077
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:39 am

Re: Cannot access main site

Postby mmathews » Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:01 pm

H'K'Maly wrote:
mmathews wrote:www1 is throwing a fit and had to be rebooted. Unfortunately it's been quite a while sense it's last reboot so it has to go through the whole fsck on the disks and is taking a while to finish. I've taken www1 out of rotation until it's back up and running again but it may take a bit for DNS to catch up. You can always use http://www3.drowtales.com until everything is back to normal.


Your TTL is one hour. That usually means it takes two hour for "DNS to catch up". How long does fsck take? Is it really worth it?


Fsck takes as long as it needs to run. It's not a matter of "is it worth it" it's required after a certain period of time.

But everything is back up and running again and DNS entries have been updated. Please return to using http://www.drowtales.com to access the site.
mmathews
Overload of the Interwebs
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 2:16 am
Location: Traped in the server

Re: Cannot access main site

Postby H'K'Maly » Sun Nov 24, 2013 2:25 am

mmathews wrote:
H'K'Maly wrote:
mmathews wrote:www1 is throwing a fit and had to be rebooted. Unfortunately it's been quite a while sense it's last reboot so it has to go through the whole fsck on the disks and is taking a while to finish. I've taken www1 out of rotation until it's back up and running again but it may take a bit for DNS to catch up. You can always use http://www3.drowtales.com until everything is back to normal.


Your TTL is one hour. That usually means it takes two hour for "DNS to catch up". How long does fsck take? Is it really worth it?


Fsck takes as long as it needs to run. It's not a matter of "is it worth it" it's required after a certain period of time.

But everything is back up and running again and DNS entries have been updated. Please return to using http://www.drowtales.com to access the site.


I was asking if it's worth it to change DNS due to fsck.
User avatar
H'K'Maly
Vel'akar
 
Posts: 2077
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:39 am

Previous

Return to technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest