The heart of Ther'avare! Join in the conversations and make yourself known amongst your clan, and participate in its life, culture, and art!

Look Overhaul Discussion Thread

Postby Hetros on Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:06 pm

Okay, the primary reason for me tackling our redesign of our swords, as well as assisting Minalia in the redesign of our armor for the Mk.3 Warrior Armor, is that I think it's high time we had a look redesign.

Now before I go any further I want to point something out here. This is not about establishing ONE UNIFORM LOOK TO THE ENTIRE CLAN, this is NOT about installing my personal vision of how we should look. I'm a game design and producer by trade, and that's a collaborative industry, consider this an experiment. Be willing to budge, be willing to give ground, be willing to accept that just because one idea has primacy doesn't mean others cannot exist along side it and you are not required to follow these rules when submitting your own character image or future ones. Most of these things would be applied to our FACELESS population, not the player one, to give the clan a more united, less mongrilish look. We'll have been united with a core population of something like 300-500 people for nearly 3 decades by the end of the next time skip in all likelihood (this is including the first and second exoduses, P2P1, the intermission, and P2P2), we'd not look like a hodgepodge anymore.

We are a diverse clan, but there's a pittiable lack of AWESOME in recent years.

We have had fewer people submitting artwork for our tools and equipment. Less for our looks and our banners. I'm going to be tackling a lot of this. I want people to submit ideas for clothing styles that our faceless might be wearing more commonly here on the surface, I want people to submit to submit articles of jewelery, decoration, artwork, little architectural flourishes.